May 23, 2024

Balkan Travellers

Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world

Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to three scientists for their work with quantum dots

Nobel Prize in Chemistry awarded to three scientists for their work with quantum dots

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded on Wednesday to Monje G. Boundy, Louis Bruce and Alexei Ekimov for the discovery and development of quantum dots, nanoparticles so small that their size determines their properties.

Quantum dots, described by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences as “the tiniest components of nanotechnology,” are used in LED lights and TV screens and could help guide surgeons as they remove cancerous tissue.

“For a long time, no one thought you could actually make such small particles,” Johan Akvist, chairman of the academy’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry committee, said at a news conference to announce the 2023 winners. The subject presented in front of him five colored vials that he said contained quantum dots in a liquid solution, and he said: “But the winners this year succeeded.”

News of the winners’ expected win was reported earlier on Wednesday morning in the Swedish media, a highly unusual leak that was then reported. By Reuters And Associated Press Several hours before the official announcement from the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards the prize.

Swedish media cited what they said was an email from the academy that had been sent early in error. Reuters quoted Dr. Akvist as saying: “It is a mistake by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.” He noted that the committee meeting was scheduled to start at 9:30 a.m. local time (2:30 a.m. ET), and added: “So no decision has been made yet.” The winners have not been chosen.”

Dr. Boundy is a professor at MIT, Dr. Bruce is a professor emeritus at Columbia University, and Dr. Ekimov works at Nanocrystals Technology, a company based in New York State.

See also  Russia is increasingly using its air force in Ukraine

The committee said the recipients were all pioneers in exploring the nanoworld, in which the size of matter is measured in millionths of a millimeter. They said their work allowed humanity to use some of the distinctive properties of the nanoworld.

In the early 1980s, Dr. Bruce and Dr. Ekimov created quantum dots independently of each other. In 1993, Dr Boundy revolutionized methods for manufacturing quantum dots, making their quality “extremely high” – a prerequisite for their use in nanotechnology today, the committee said.

For quantum dots to be most useful, Dr. Akvist said, they must be made in solution “with exquisite control over their size and surface.” He said Dr. Bawende had invented an ingenious chemical method “to do this.”

“He can now make perfect nanoparticles of a very specific size and very high quality,” Dr. Akvist said.

“These achievements represent an important milestone in the field of nanotechnology,” said Dr. Akvist, adding that there are now many applications for quantum dots, from QLED displays to imaging in biochemistry, medicine and much more.

“Recognition of this work on quantum dots is really exciting,” Jill Read, president of the British Royal Society of Chemistry, said in a statement. “It shows how chemistry can be used to solve a range of challenges.”

She added that the “remarkable nanoparticles” have huge potential to create “smaller, faster and smarter devices, increasing the efficiency of solar panels and the brilliance of a TV screen.”

See also  Cerberus heat wave threatens new record temperatures for Europe

The award went to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal, and K. Barry Sharpless for their work on “Click Chemistry”.

  • On Monday, the Physiology or Medicine Prize went to Katalin Carrico and Drew Wiseman for their work on chemical modification of messenger RNA. This modification led to the successful development of COVID-19 vaccines and saved millions of lives. Dr. Carrico is the thirteenth woman to win a Nobel Prize in this category.

  • The Physics Prize was awarded on Tuesday to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Kraus and Anne Lhuillier for techniques that illuminate the subatomic world of electrons. Dr. Lhuillier is the fifth woman to be selected for a Nobel Prize in this category.

  • The Nobel Prize in Literature is scheduled to be awarded on Thursday by the Swedish Academy in Stockholm. Last year, Annie Ernault was awarded the award for her work that dissects the most humiliating, private and scandalous moments from her past with almost clinical precision.

  • The Nobel Peace Prize is scheduled to be awarded on Friday by the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. Last year, the award was shared by the Russian “Memorial” organization; Center for Civil Liberties of Ukraine; and Alice Bialiatsky, the imprisoned Belarusian activist.

  • Next week, the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences will be awarded on Monday by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm. Last year, Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond, and Philip Debvig award for work that has helped reshape how the world understands the relationship between banking and financial crises.

See also  Fujitsu admits it has a "moral obligation" to compensate post office victims

All award announcements are It was broadcast live By the Nobel Prize Organization.