February 26, 2024

Balkan Travellers

Comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world

Wade, Nowitzki, Gasol, Popovich, Hammon, and Parker were elected to the HOF position

Wade, Nowitzki, Gasol, Popovich, Hammon, and Parker were elected to the HOF position

Adrian VojnarowskiSenior NBA insider2 minutes to read

Look at Dirk’s historic career with the Mavericks

Take a look back at the best moments of Dirk Nowitzki’s historic career for the Mavericks.

Sources told ESPN on Tuesday that Dwyane Wade, Dirk Nowitzki and coach Gregg Popovich are among the finalists for the 2023 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class.

Two world stars — Pau Gasol and Tony Parker — and WNBA legend Becky Hammon have also been voted into the Class of 2023, sources said.

An official announcement of the full class of 2023 will come Saturday at the NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four in Houston.

Wade won three championships with the Miami Heat and was the NBA Finals Most Valuable Player in 2006, a 13-time All-Star and Olympic Gold Medalist in USA Basketball in 2008. Nowitzki is the #6 leading scorer in the NBA with 31 550 points, was named the league’s Most Valuable Player in 2007 and won a championship with the Dallas Mavericks in 2011, when he was named Finals MVP.

Gasol won two championships with the Los Angeles Lakers alongside Kobe Bryant and was a six-time All-Star and two-time Olympic silver medalist for Spain.

Popovich is the NBA’s all-time leader in coaching, and has led the San Antonio Spurs to five championships. Becky Hammon was a six-time All-Star in her WNBA career and coached the Las Vegas Aces to a championship last summer in her first season with the team.

The tribute is scheduled to take place on August 12.

ESPN’s Dave McMenamin contributed to this story.

See also  Rafael Nadal vs Taylor Fritz Wimbledon 2022 Quarter Final Live Updates